Which one do you think that government should invest in education or infrastructure?

It’s hard to say that infrastructure projects can create jobs for a society, and such a fact may mislead impressionable people to generate the opinion that our government should give priority of its investment to infrastructure instead of education. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as effectiveness, economy, and equality are concerned, I strongly hold that our government should divert its investment to education.

First and foremost, it’s universally acknowledged that education is more effective than infrastructure in changing the world, as education generates greater long-term welfare for the society we live in. Meanwhile, in the long term, people will be able to learn more knowledge, enhance their professional skills, and change the world they live in. Not to mention the fact that these highly educated citizens will be able to build better, stronger, and more efficient infrastructure in the future to serve the whole society. And if we do not place enough weight on education, we will lack momentum in our future development, not only in the building of infrastructure but many other fields as well.

Furthermore, as far as the economy is concerned, the fact that education promotes the fundamentals of economic growth in the long-term indicates that the government should allocate resources to education. Take the case of Soft Union, which once diverted a huge amount of fund to education in science and engineering. As a result, educated people, such as Tupolev, revolutionized the framework of Soft Union’s industry and economy. These talents formed a synergy and transformed a poor country into one of the leading economies in the world. Had it not been for Soft Union’s heavy emphasis on education, Soft Union would never become a leading economy in the world.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that investment in infrastructure projects helps increase employment rate, boosting economy and creating better social equality. Ironically, the jobs added through such projects are only temporary, and do not help people in the long term. Poor people and their future generations still cannot move up to a better social class. Therefore, education is the true solution to tackle inequality in the society.

In a netshell, I maintain that our government ought to divert its financial resources to education. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from James Madison goes, as long as the reason of main continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I hold a firm belief that they will compromise after being exposed to my article.