Which one of the following is the best approach to reduce living expenses?

A. share the rent with a roommate

B. do not buy the latest technology products like cellphone frequently

C. cook food at home.

As a famous saying goes, saving is earning. It does not matter how much one earns; The way one spends it is important. I prefer not to buy technology gadgets as soon as they are released to lower my money expenditure. I will elaborate on the reasons for holding this opinion in the following essay.

First, I do not feel the urge to change my technology products such as mobile phones or laptops as often as their new versions are released. Although newer products enjoy better performance than older ones, I do not believe the older version is useless. Tech companies invest a huge portion of their income in research and development. They hire scientists to invent new materials and improve the quality of their products. In my opinion, the technological advancements outrun the need of customers; we have many instances that users can not utilize their device to its full capacity. As one example, the power of smartphone processors is constantly increasing, but a person who uses such cell phones for everyday purposes such as messaging and online shopping does not need so much processing power. Of course, a teenager may love a powerful phone to play online games with high visual effects, but a hardworking adult does not have enough time to play games; Thus, I only change my electronic devices when they are completely out of kilter. By so doing, I can lower my expenses and save money.

Secondly, products with the latest features are expensive when they are first introduced. When a new feature is embedded for the first time in a device, the manufacturing company charges more for that feature. Only after other companies include the feature in a similar product, the price become reasonable. When a leading laptop computer brand introduced laptops with webcams, they priced that model twice the price of the same laptop without a camera. At first, it was very tempting for me to acquire such a useful laptop since I could make my online meetings without attaching a separate camera to my personal computer, but I could not afford it. However, a couple of months later, other laptop manufacturers started to include a webcam in all of their products, and the price gap between laptops with a camera and without it started to close. So, I do not buy new products as soon as they are released, and I wait until its hot market cools off and their price stabilizes.

All in all, a great way to save money is to fight the temptation of buying cool new products at the beginning of their introduction.