Which of these actions do you think needs to be addressed most urgently:

Stopping looting and arson in city centres

Improving health care, education and pensions

Electing a constitutional assembly

After the Chilean “Social outburst,” that started at October 2019, many elements of the politic-economic Chilean system have been put on discussion to be changed. However, which action needs to be addressed more urgently: Stopping looting and arson in city centres; improving health care, education and pensions or electing a constitutional assembly?

In my opinion, Education is the most urgent elements of our system, which need to be changed.

It is clear that health care and pensions are elements that need be urgently addressed, but if we do not synchronize their improvements with a profound change in our educational system, we will never obtain a fair society. Our educational system has been used by the powerful to keep people in ignorance, making them believe in a false concept of success, based on the superficial, materialistic and (at the end) empty model of civilization that was forcibly imposed on our country through the Pinochet's dictatorship. As an example of this, we can find in the latest indebtedness report, issued by the commission for the Chilean financial market, a worrying number of vulnerable debtors, that is, people whose financial burden exceeds 50% of their monthly income. They have made themselves slaves of financial institutions, following those aspirational dreams that have been embedded in their brains. For years illiterate workers had been abused by their bosses throughout unfair working conditions. Today this abuse continues, even when statistics says that the absolute illiteracy is marginal, there exist a worrying number of functional illiterates in Chile. But even ‘well educated’ people have difficulties to understand technical details on working contracts, economical information, etc.

On the other hand, the Chilean Educational system is used as a tool of crowd control, producing a social segregation where the quality of education is directly associated with socioeconomic level of each student. Depending on how much a student can spend on education is how high he/she can aspire to be in a step of our society. Instead of being educating, our students coming from the lowest social level, are being training to answer tests like SIMCE, PSU, etc. repeating and memorizing certain information, with the goal of make them to become a ‘successful’, obedient, submissive (but absolutely disposable) piece of this machine of productivity. They are not being formed as autonomous thinkers. In my opinion this is the most serious thing of all, our educational system secretly denies the human right of education since it does not respect the most important objective of education: The integral development of the person.

In my opinion, if we do not put attention on recovering the deepest aspects of education, we will never obtain a fair society, where human being were the center instead of money, as it is now. If we start now writing a new constitution for Chile, without focus in the development of deep thought, we just will get another empty book as the one written by the dictatorship of Pinoshit. ?