Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends? 1. joining a sports team 2. participating in community activities 3. Traveling

Throughout history, friends have played a crucial role in people’s lives and society. In this regard, people have always tried to make new friends using different ways. Some people possess the conviction that joining a sports team is the best way to find a friend, whereas others hold alternative perspective and allege that participating in a community activities or travelling are better ways to make new friends. I take the view that participating in sports team activity is a more sensible way to make new friends. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, in sports team, team members face different challenges and try to solve these issues cooperatively. There is a widely held view that the more people collaborate each other to solve problems, the more they will tend to establish rapport with each other. To put it simply, when people encounter different and complex difficulties, they should spend more time coming up with solutions, so they will have more time to get to know each other. My experience is a case in point. Approximately five years ago, I was in a soccer team in our college. When I joined the team, I was a new member who don’t know anyone. As time elapsed, the team take part in more and more competition and we confronted various challenges. Therefore, we spend time with each other solving many challenges. This situation, provided us with the golden opportunity to get familiar with each other and everyone’s personality traits. Therefore, we were able to make new friends, and after many years, we are still friends. Had I not joined the mentioned sports team, I would not have been able to forge a relationship with others.

The second noteworthy reason to be mentioned is that team members have the same objective, which means they will try their best to help each other so that they could achieve their aims. There is no denying the fact that when people help each other in harsh situations, it will affect their relationship. In other words, the more people help each other, the more it is possible for them to became friends. In the research conducted in my country in 2020, the factors that facilitated making new friends were analyzed. The results revealed that one of the most important factors was to assist others in hardships. People who experienced the same difficulties simultaneously and aided each other were more likely to establish a deep relationship after that. The reason for this was that when their teammate endeavored to help them, they were capable of relieving their stresses, and this sense caused them confide in their peers.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that joining sports team is a more prudent course of action to make new friends. Not only does it lead people to spending more time each other to get to the root of the problems and forge a good relationship with each other, but also encourage them to help each other in difficulties, both of which give rise to making new friends. However, that was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are several reasons and examples, which are not mentioned above. Finally, it is suggested that students join sports team to be able to get to know new people and make new friends.