Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends. a. joining a sports team, b. participate in community activities, c. traveling.

The sparkling point that makes participating sports teams be the best choice to establish friendship is that sport activities require constant trust between teammates. To be more specific, during sports activities, cooperation between teammates is one of the most essential parts. Good cooperation is based on trust between teammates. Since trust is the most important element existed in friendship, attending sports activities could effectively develop friendship. I have an example about myself that making friends in sports team during my high school. I attended the school’s soccer team in my Year 2 in High school. I was playing the position of midfielder, which is role to organize attack and defence. This position, caused by its special properties, enable me to experience the trust in sports and therefore, build up friendship with teammates. The most impressing experience is the competition between another school in the semi-final of the city’s annually competition. In the last minute of the game, I passed the soccer to my teammate who has a better position rather than to shot directly. Even he shot aside and we finally lost the game, I still did not regret for my decision. This friendship established in sports team have lasted for years. Even he is aboard in British these years, we still chat with each other regularly to discuss the current soccer matches.

As a contrast, participating in community activities and travelling, as compared to joining a sports team, lose their lust for their own defects. Participating in communities is often believed to be a way to make friends with the same interest. Attending community activities indeed gather people together for the same purpose. However, it is questionable that whether people could make friends with the same hobbies in such activities. As compared to sports team, in which each individual shares the topic of the sports with each other, it is hard for people to establish friendship with those with the same hobby. As for travelling, many people assert that travelling is a method of expand one’s social circle since travelling has its advantage of making friends from various regions. However, the so-called ‘friends’ made on the road of travelling could just be acquaintances, rather than to be true friends. Most of the time, people lose contact with their ‘friend’ made in travelling after the trip ends. It is hard for people to make long-lasting friendships in travelling. The reason is that the time in travelling is too short to know each other deeply.

In conclusion, joining sports team is the best way to make new friends. The trust established in sports is the best catalyst for a stable friendship.