Why did you choose these laboratories and what would you like to learn from this program?

Biomedical engineering major was introduced to me on an unexpected occasion in the past 3 years when I had chance to visit International University, which was the first school that recruited students for this major. This major is the combination of technology and medicine had attracted me so I decided to choose to study BME in the university entrance exam. During the time in my university, I could experience many things and understand more about the branch that I was studying. Day after day, I understood that the hasty decision that I’ve made nourished the love, the passion for the things I was learning, experienced during the first two years in BME department.

During the first two years, I had attended many kind of health seminars, but the one that changed my mind was the seminar of Tissue Engineering. In this seminar, I was introduced to a kind of glycoprotein that have a wide broad of application, which called Fibronectin - membrane protein and the role of FN in issues related to medicine and human health. FN and its interaction with cell surface integrin are widely used in research in many areas: cancer, formation and development of coagulation factors, its application in recovery wound healing, ... and many other aspeacts.

I chose to study about the application of FN in tumor development and treatment. I learned that its interaction with surface integrin is an important factor in the study and treatment of common and rare cancers. I was very honored when I had an opportunities to be one of the member of the Workshop team in the 7th International Conference on the Development of Biomedical Engineering in Vietnam (BME7), which topic was Translational Health Science and Technology for Developing Countries. It is known that cancer is one of the causes that reduces the lifespan of many people. For a young person like me, who had many dreams and aspirations to live with my passions, I understand that health is a very important thing in human life, and with cancer patients they desire it a lot more times. The most beloved neighbor died because of that disease. Understanding the pain of people with relatives who carry diseases and the desire to live of patients who are still day and night struggling with life, I hope that I can contribute part of my effort to understand the causes and solution to solve that problem

Currently, I am still in the process of understanding the interaction of FN with surface integrin in tumor growth and development. At the same time, I also learned and observed the previous students who did basic experiments on FNs such as running SDS-PAGE electrophoresis and purifying FN. Having learned about Japanese culture for a long time as a member of IU Japan Club Japanese club, I always wish to have a day to go to this place to experience cultural activities and study in the land of Anh Hoa. dig. When I heard that Tsukuba University organized a summer research program, I knew it is the perfect opportunity for me. I think this is a very good opportunity because it is not only a chance for me to learn more about the techniques of the area I was studying but I also learn many lectures and attend some social events in one of the top Japanese universities. Moreover, I also experienced and learned the culture of the country that I honestly hope to have a chance to visit.