Without communication, relationships could break down. When parents spend most of their time working some people believe that they should play with kids while others consider that academic duties should come first. Both have positive and negative aspects. However, I personally believe that helping children with thing related to schoolwork is the best option for recovering the time wasted. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, developing activities together may provide people with more connections among them. Even these activities are academic, children will more comfortable with the presence of their parents for helping them consequently, they may improve their father-kid relationship. By doing this, the environment at home may be affected positively. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a child, in the beginning, my father did not use to spend so much time with me because most of his time he used to work even outside of the city which involved that our relationship was weak in certain aspects. Nevertheless, this reality changed when due to the little connection between us, he asked his boss to reduce his hours at his job in order to spend more time at home. Having been accepted his inquiry, we could spend more time together but the activities we used to do were related to schoolwork because I could do my homework and strengthen our relationship simultaneously.

Secondly, helping children with their academic duties does not only make the relationship stronger but also provide children with more tools for improving their performance in class. According to several psychology studies children catch more information and process it more efficient when they are taught by one of their parents. For instance, my nephew, who is ten years old, used to distract in class which involved that his performance was questioned by some professors who explained to my brother that he needed to avoid distractions such as internet or television. However, only one of them gave my brother an important advice which consisted in that he should help his kid to gain more interest in activities related to schoolwork. Having incorporated this suggestion to his schedule, my brother and his child started to spend 2 hours daily to reinforce information learned in class. By doing this, my nephew did no only improve his performance in class but also gain more confidence to participate more than other students. Due to these results, this activity became a habit in my brother’s family.

In conclusion, I strongly consider that spending time with children in activities which involve contributing with the preparation of them is weigh better than wasting this time in recreative activities because it would help kids not only in short-term but also in long-term.