At work or school, you might encounter a problem that requires creativity -for example, you are given a task to complete that is very different from other tasks you do. In work or school situation that requires you to think creatively, would you prefer to

It is apparent that people confront various difficulties in their daily activities. It is very important for them to manage themselves in order to solve these problems as soon as possible. In this regard, a controversy might arise to whether it is better to solve the issues alone or with interaction with others. Although both of these opinions have their loyal advocates, I highly tend to the latter option with two compelling reasons, which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, working with others enables each member of a group to become familiar with different perspectives of a specific issue. These various ideas deal with the problems from different viewpoints and consequently makes the solutions more accurate and comprehensive. Take a personal experience as an example. I work as a planning expert in Iran railway company. Last year our manager decided to classify my colleagues and me to various specialized groups in order to analyze the potential ways of increasing labor productivity. At the end of the year, the annual survey showed that our department became one of the top ones in our corporate. needless to say that had we not been engaged in groups, we wouldn’t have gained that excellent result.

The other rationale behind this idea is rooted in the fact that working in pairs not only leads individuals to the optimal solution more quickly but also helps each person to improve some of his social attributes. these days, a host of parents think that their children are not socialized enough and ask schools to run effective programs to address their concerns. In my case, I used to be a shy person when I was studying at high school. Working with my classmates gave me a chance to boost my self-confidence. I also learned how to defend my idea to persuade others and trained to accept rational consultants proposed by my friends. This education environment completely changed my personality to an extraverted student.

To put it into a nutshell, although some people think that their performances get increased when they work alone, I deeply believe that working in a group not only enhances the solution quality but also enables individuals to eliminate some of their personality weaknesses.