You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or club. Do you agree or disagree that a person’s honesty is the most important thing to consider in deciding whom to vote for?Use reasons and examples to support your position.

It is obvious that leader of a group plays an important role in a team. People should consider different factors when they are trying to choose a person as a leader. Some individuals state that a leader in order to take leadership position should have characteristics like being knowledgeable, talented, intelligent, self-confident, and so on. However, I strongly believe that honesty is the most valuable leadership quality. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my view using some reasons and examples.

I think the most prominent trait that a good leader must have is honesty and integrity. Having this quality leads members of group to follow a leader. People can trust the leader and thus it helps a team to be more successful. For example, I worked in a research group in a big company, and my manager was not honest with me. He told me that if I did my duty properly and got satisfactory results, I could get a promotion, while after the end of project and obtaining good results, I was not promoted. As a result, after that I did not trust him and his dishonesty had has negative effects on my work and my working efficiency had decreased.

Moreover, I believe that when a leader is honest and sincere, it causes members of a group to respect him or her and to obey his/her orders. In addition, members will have good and strong relationships with leader. In spite of the fact that leader have some weakness points, people will cooperate with him in order to achieve their goals because he/she is a dependable person. For instance, when I was a student in university, I took part in a research group activity, our leader has not sufficient information in some areas, but he was an honest individual. Therefore, other members try and work harder to gain necessary information and get desirable results, although our leader could not guide us enough.

To sum up, in my point of view, the most important characteristics of a great leadership is sincerity and honesty. This way, people rely on him/her and have appropriate collaboration with each other and leader. It helps team meet its objectives.