You have long been friend with someone. If they do something that you don’t like ,

should you still be friends with him or her?

Friends are serving as an increasing significant and indispensable part of people’s life, as the companion could relieve us from the pressure from the academic or career challenges and family responsibilities. Thus, it has been advocated that friends keeping consistent with our own behaviors are supposed to be maintained, while those deviating from our norms should be abandoned, not only because the long-term disagreement would degrade the relationship ,but also argument would occur now and then with more time and exertion devoted to settle down the disputes. However, some dissenters claim that people should also accept friends whose behaviors are disapproved to them. As far as I am concerned, I am in agreement with the viewpoint above, and my reasons and examples are given below.

The first example is associated with the difference of the values. It is long believed that people’s physical behaviors are guided by their psychological recognition, which is shaped by personal experience, educational background and parental care. Obviously, these factors vary from person to person, indicating that it is unlikely to encounter someone else with virtually same stance with ourselves. Thus it is inevitable that reactions to certain circumstance differing between people, and divergence appears, irrelevant to the nature of the relation. As for friends, growing in diverse environment, it is understandable that one person’s behavior might be contradicted to the other’s values. However, if people make the resolution to maintain the relationship with whose behaviors constantly correspond to their expectation, the result would be shedding all his friends.

The second example comes from the novel perspective. Although the behavior is not preferred by the friend, it doesn’t mean that it is a wrong answer to the situation or unwelcome by others. The purpose of making friends lies on the broad view, since people are able to share joy, sorrow and personal opinions with others, and friends would patiently listen to the stories and be open to accept various viewpoints, which is beneficial to both sides. Nevertheless, when friends circle is constrained to people only according with our own rules, chances are that views that we are exposed to are limited and new ones are blocked outside. Consequently, friends are another copy of ourselves, repeating the preferred behaviors, and relation would be peaceful, though blend.

Admittedly, if some disliked behaviors have crossed the line, they would lead to the collapse of the friendship, including the illegal and immoral conduct. For instance, it is unacceptable if a girl has seduced her intimate friend’s boyfriend, because it not only hurts the other’s feeling, but also illustrates great flaws of one’s characteristic. Hence, it should be noticed that there is a line between the different levels of disliked actions, among which some are tolerable and might spice the relationship, while others are beyond the common sense.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw the conclusion that the relation should be continued, even if our friends have behaved in an disfavored way. As the society develops consistently and changes rapidly, higher standards and requirements have been proposed for the next generation, accompanying intense stress. Friends are suitable vent to release the negative emotion, and in return, disliked behaviors of our friends are allowed to occur as long as they conform to the public’s morality and the laws. Conclusively, precious as friendship is, it should be treated with more meticulousness and patience.