Young people today are less dependent on their parents than in the past

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that young children rely on their parents for their decisions in different levels. Although some people are of the conviction that today’s youth are more dependent on the elderly compared to the past, I think people are more independent nowadays. In what follows I will delve into the paramount reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

First and foremost, the advent of technology and expansion of people’s communication have rendered youth more independent. It is crystal clear that, in this era, people have more access to various resources of information; thereby, they can make a comprehensive research, and consequently, decide in different situations. Indeed, there are other reasonable and even fast methods to help them when they encounter a dilemma, rather than their parents. As a case in point, when I was going to choose my university major, I was completely confused and desperate at first since my parents were not experienced to help me. However, I went to the university and consulted with some senior students and professors that gave me a proper perspective about my future major. Then, I searched on the internet about some prosperous people in my intended field, and accordingly, selected my study area with confidence. Had I not used these vast facilities, I would have relied on my parents who could not have even guided me.

The other point worth mentioning is that, in the past, people had a much simpler lifestyle, and family bonds were too tight. Indeed, the actions and decisions of family members were affected by each other directly. Furthermore, they used to obey some obsolete beliefs. By way of illustration, my grandfather pursued his father's career as a farmer, without considering his own passion. Moreover, he was not allowed to pick his wife since his parents were responsible to find spouse for their kids. This example reveals how people in the past needed their parents for making decisions.

In conclusion, contemporary juveniles have more self-esteem in comparison to the previous ones, not only because of taking advantage of technology and extensive communication, but also for prevailing over ancient traditions.