Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

There is a debate regarding age discrimination among employees in company environment whether they are able to get the job, receive promotions or lose their job after turning to an advanced age. In fact, I believe that such behaviour should be banned of workplaces because it goes against the law and that is what this essay will discuss.

Although the legislation of of companies often try to cover all aspects of a worker life, it is possible to see lacks regarding their condition as being too young or too old to exercise some expertise in a work environment. People tend to discriminate new employees when they have just graduated from university and are given important roles to play among an organization. They are often watched and have to prove twice if they are competent to the job, or to being given a promotion.

On the other hand, there is a situation of elderly people when close to retire being fired or unfairly dismissed with the excuse of no longer bring relevant contribution to the company. Such behaviour should be banned and watched by the government in order to prevent it from occur in a workplace environment.

To sum up, I believe that all acts of discriminations against a worker should be confronted and prohibited in law, therefore, the legislation of a company, moreover of a country should ensure right equality to employees regardless their age, position, or time of contribution to the organization.