Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Discrimination based on a person’s age is one of the most common discriminations that happen at today’s workplaces. While some people believe that it is perfectly legitimate for employers to discriminate against older people, others maintain that everybody should be treated impartially and equally irrespective of the age. This essay will discuss why it is unethical to treat older employees badly and, therefore, any discrimination against older workers should be made illegal.

There is a common misconception among many employers that older workers lack the skills and talents to fulfill the job. However, there is no scientific proof for such prejudiced mindset. Recent studies show that there is no correlation between age and learning skills and hence, age should not even be a factor in employment decisions. It is clear that when any workplace decision is made based on employee’s age, it will be clearly discriminatory against senior people.

Despite the moral need to prevent discrimination, some people think that businesses can make better profits if they can consider the age of workers in making major decisions. But, what they don’t understand is that such a move will allow misuse of policies against older workers. If age-based discrimination is allowed, managers may terminate experienced resources just to increase the margins. So, any discrimination against older workers should be made illegal.

This essay discussed how the merit of senior employees can most often surpass younger employees and also the possibilities of misusing the policy if age-based discrimination is made legal. In my opinion, older workers are an asset to any company and any discrimination against aged employees should not be allowed by law.