Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of differential education, i.e. splitting students into different classes according to their academic performance.

Nowadays, there has been a heated discussion on differential education. some people believe that splitting students into different classes according to their academic performance can improve their motivation, but some people think this will make other students feel stress. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument.

First and foremost, there are numerous reasons why it is a good idea to put students into different groups, but the most obvious one lies in the facts that teachers can use different teaching strategies to fit student needs. From my experience, if it were not for differential education, I would not have been able to finish my study with students from different background.

However, other factors should be considered is differential education will lower student’s motivation towards school. For instance, students will be given labels if they are assigned to different classed based on academic ability. this may have negative impacts on their psychology. there, the disadvantage of differential education is undeniable.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that differential education can help students learn better but also may have negative impacts on their psychological development. To address this issue, schools should make an effort to find solutions.