There is a colossal upsurge in over packaged products. Some believe that it is the responsibility of the manufacturer to avoid over packing the products while others contend that the responsibility lies with the consumers. I profoundly believe that the accountability is with the manufacturer than consumer and will elaborate my point of view in this essay.

Firstly, the products are over packaged for myriad of reasons. The manufacturer wants the products to appear trendy which will eventually attract more buyers. It will also help in preserving the freshness, increases the durability and safety of the product. With the recent advancement in online shopping most of the manufacturers are delivering the products to homes and pack it in such a way that the items don’t get damaged while in transit. This includes various items such as mobile phones, watches etc., Hence the producers opt for over packing their products.

On the flip side, extreme packing of products consume more non-recyclable raw materials which cause detrimental effects to the environment. This also augments the price of the product. If manufacturing cost of a product is $10, it will be sold at $50 which includes the cost of the packing materials. Getting rid of the over packaging will diminish the price of the product to some extent.

Hence, In order to lessen the price of the products and curtail the environmental ill effects, it is the responsibility of the manufacturers as they are the ones who over pack the items. Manufacturers need to come out of their preconceived notions and instead they can come up with alternative solutions like advertisements, marketing strategies to attract the buyers and also save the environment.