Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers?

A matter of considerable controversy at present is the issue of whether it is the responsibility of consumers to avoid the over-packaged products. Some people maintain that the producers are the ones who should be held responsible for this matter. Both sides of this contentious issue will be put under scrutiny in this essay, and my opinion as to which holds more weight will be given.

To begin with, I will now consider what I hold to be the causes of this phenomenon. Packaging ensures that people can buy and use products when they want them, in good condition and with little wastage. However, it is undeniable that some goods have too much packaging. Moreover, the packaged goods industry is highly competitive, and packaging manufacturers are under pressure to come up with new and better packaging solutions to compete in their market. The more resources the packaging needs, the higher the cost of the products and eventually, consumers will have to bear that extra cost.

From consumers’ perspective, the packaging does not really matter for most buyers as what they care about is the quality and the price of the products. From a personal experience, I am not really concerned how the packaging actually looks as long as the item that I am purchasing is what I need. In addition, it is worth pointing out that the packaging will be a waste of money and investment no matter how good or how thick it is if the quality of the product does not meet the requirement of the consumers.

Taking these points into consideration, from a personal perspective, I am inclined to believe that manufacturers are more responsible to avoid over-packaging the goods as it would be wasting the consumers’ money for no practical benefits.