Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

The idea of conducting written examinations at schools and universities is widely debated with many academics claiming that these formal exams are a correct method of assessing a student’s ability and skill. However, I believe that these written examinations focus only on theoretical aspects of studies and restrict the analytical and reasoning abilities of children. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and will thus, lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are many reasons why written tests are not a proper method of judging a student’s capability. The most conspicuous one is that most children do not cope up with the extreme exam pressure and stress owing to which they underperform. Furthermore, the child feels depressed and dejected once he fails in the exam thus, alienating him from his peers. Hence, it is apparent that written forms of examinations are conventional and judging a student in a two or three hours test is not an appropriate way to assess his calibre.

Nevertheless, there are some merits of written examinations and the most primary one is that a student goes through a lot when he prepares for these kinds of exams. Moreover, these tests assess what a student has learned throughout a year and eventually, test his knowledge of the subject under proper timed conditions. For instance, many students study all year for exams which augments their learning process and broaden their expertise. Thus, evidently written examination helps in skill building in children.

In views of the arguments outlined above, the conventional form of examinations has a prominent impact although the demerits of these examinations outweigh the upsides in terms of assessment of the knowledge of children.