Education should teach us ethics and life values that will be practical for future employment. What is your opinion?

The controversial topic with respect to the role of education never fails to attract public attention. There has been a heated debate on whether schools should educate us ethics and life values which are essential for one’s future. Although such topics, in all likelihood, will never yield a consensual agreement, personally, I am the advocate of the view that education should prepare the qualified candidates for society.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that teaching ethics and life values is an essential part of education, due to the fact that one the most important function of education is to provide the society with students with moral values. This is because citizens should assume the responsibility for and be prepared to contribute to their communities and the whole society, and without them there will be too much violence and dishonesty in society. For instance, some scientific researches undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that the crime rate of one city is closely related to its citizens’ education level. As a result, teaching students ethics and life values is an inevitable responsibility of education.

In contrast, it is commonly believed as a fact that subjects like math, science and language are far more important because in this competitive job market, strong academic background is vital for one’s future career. Nevertheless, this argument does not hold full water. It should be pointed out that apart from academic background, ethics, such as honesty, respect and cooperation, and life values are also keys to success in workplace. Employers are seeking for talents with high moral standard.

In a nutshell, based on the foregoing discussion, obviously, education should equip students with good ethics and positive life values, which is critical for their future career and the society.