Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The importance of examination on student life which was debatable has now become more controversial.The substantial influence of Evaluation and grading has sparked the controversy over recent years. It can be agreed that assessment, either in summative form or formative form is very important to evaluate how well and how far a student can progress. The essay will elaborate the pros and cons of both formal and continual examination and those will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons how formal examination can benefit the students but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it is under practice since long time ago and it is effect to test student memory and how he has gained his knowledge throughout the year or semester. The Traditional exam is done in the supervision of invigilator in a peaceful strict environment that a student cannot take help from anyone and other resources of knowledge give optimum level of assessment. Since the formal examination is taken once. It does not consider the student health or personal problem he is facing which can affect the evaluation. For instance, it does not consider if a student faces unusual things while travelling to the exam centre, which can affect his evaluations.

In contrast, there is another type of examination, which is continual examination system throughout the education. It involves project work, assignments, and practical tasks. It evaluates the different level of skills and abilities, which he is learning during the studies. Such examination takes places throughout the year which means student do not have to study his entire syllabus at the end of the term.

To conclude, it is evident that both continual assessment and formal examinations are effective in different ways, but they also have some weakness. I believe, depending on student ability, the evaluation procedure should be selected.