Happiness index is becoming a new national success rather than only economic growth. What do you think about this idea? What can be used to measure happiness index?

The man kind has always been engaging in the pursuit of happiness and recently this has gained official level of attention across the world. Governments are now starting to consider happiness index when measuring the wealth of a nation instead of only relying on economic based indexes. This essay discusses the reasons behind why this should be welcomed and what are the possible ways to measure the happiness.

One of the compelling reasons why this idea should be embraced is because the quality of life means both economical and internal satisfaction of a person. In other words, mere financial success can never make a person's life comfortable or feel contented but inner peacefulness of the mind. Due to this reason, many governments nowadays are considering to add Gross National Happiness Index to measure the wealth of a nation rather than depending only on gross domestic product or GDP. Therefore it is evident that happiness index should be embraced and is becoming globally accepted phenomenon.

However,which factors can be used to measure the happiness index is also important to consider. One measure could be work life balance and job satisfaction which immensely impact on mental peacefulness of people. Moreover, living conditions and environmental factors also can be used since these factors are directly connected to the psychological well-being.

In conclusion, introducing happiness index should be welcomed as this can lead to actions which could bring increased level of happiness to the people and the factors to measure the index should be decided carefully in order to get the most out of it.