With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. University should provide digital material rather than textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of v

The effect of increasing of available digital media on the internet, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial change in the digital educational material that is given by universities has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the role of libraries in recent years. It can be agreed that digital academic information has some positive impacts, but some people claim that it has some negative impacts as well. This essay will elaborate how virtual textbook are becoming more popular and the impact of that on library's role and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why using digital books for academia is significant, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that students have access to information easily and fast. For instance, universities provide virtual platforms on which students can download as much material as they want just with one click away. Virtual information, can play a vital role to get academic publications faster.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks that can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of implementing virtual textbooks, but the most alarming one lies in the fact that libraries have become obsolete due to tertiary students do not seek books there. As an illustration, leading research shows that the number of students who visit libraries has decreased in the last five years dramatically because those places do not have academic digital material. Lack of available online information in libraries, hence, can be a factor to become less useful those facilities.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of digital media available online is prominent, although it has some drawbacks that should be well handled.