It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Some people believe that the year off is a waste of time while others believe that it is necessary.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Owing to globalization and the rapid growth of world's economy, many students are taking a gap of one year between school and starting university education. While some may benefit and learn new skills, there are negative implications that should be taken into consideration. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a one year gap between finishing a school and starting the university education. Also, will explain why it is better to take admission in a university after a gap of one year.

There is a clear benefit of learning new skills or joining a short training course which will aid in the university education. For example, a student going for civil engineering can join an engineering drawing training program to learn the nuances of architecture. In this way, many people will have the upper hand during the university curriculum. Additionally, such students will excel in exams since they will have profound knowledge about the subject. Therefore, it will be an added advantage for many to take one year off between finishing the school and starting with the university education.

On the other hand, some say that a gap of one year may lead to loss of concentration and interest in studies among students. Moreover, it could happen that some may even drop the idea of pursuing university education because they don't find it meaningful. As a result, it will lead to unemployment in the country because there will be many people with unfinished education. Thus, taking a one year gap is not a recommended idea.

This essay discussed the reasons why a gap of one year after completing school and before starting university education may or may not be fruitful for students. In my opinion, it is advisable that students should start their university program immediately after completing their school education.