It is important for children to study a film at school to learn literature. To what extent you agree? Give examples.

The importance of teaching literature in the early ages has been one of the focus in the education sector in years. The substantial influence of film in the study of literature has sparked a debate on whether it is essential to have a study of a film for literature at school. It can be argued that it is not compulsory to study a film to learn about literature. This essays will elaborate on why analysing film is not essential in learning literature.

On the onset, there are numerous reasons why a film should not be the focus to learn literature, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that literature has a lot of other forms. For example, poems, plays or dramas, novels, and many more. Moreover, to my notion, it is better to expose children on these other forms of literature than those which are more popular nowadays, like film.

On the other hand, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that it is easier to teach children through something they love, like film, especially cartoons. One example of this is a cartoon version of famous plays like Hamlet adopted to Lion King and many more. However, although it can help with the learning process, It can provoke children to be less active. By teaching through drama, children will also improve their motoric skill while learning literature.

To sum up, from what has been discussed, It can be concluded that the impact of studying film in school to learn literature is not essential, although it can be used to speed up the learning process.