Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. Your opinion? Good or bad?

In these days, there is no denying the reality that small shops are being replaced by large shopping malls. While many people believe that the changes bring about positive impact to people’s live, others feel that the opposite is also correct. This essay offers some insights on both the merits and demerits of the development.

Perhaps, the greatest benefit people can enjoy from the large shopping malls is the convenience that they bring about. This is because the customers can get virtually all kind of products and services in one place. As a result, it would save people a great deal of time and traveling expense since they need not go to different places to get different items. Another advantage of large shopping malls is that they are equipped with modern facilities and infrastructure. To give an illustration, people can enjoy the air-conditioned environment while shopping, which augments their shopping experiences.

Nonetheless, like two sides of a same coin, large shopping malls also create many problems. The most obvious negative impact is that these shopping centers are usually located at the city center. As such, those who are residing far away from the city center may find it inconvenient to shop there. This is true especially in case of emergency and urgency, one may opt for small shops because it is much nearer, let alone the fact that the prices can be sometimes cheaper and negotiable.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is clear that large shopping centers allow people to enjoy many great benefits, they also bring upon a number of drawbacks to others’ lives and society.