The mass media including TV, Radio and newspaper influence our society and shape our opinions and characters. What is your opinion?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the influence of the mass media on our society. There is a wide range of factors that account for why this is happening. These days, there is an unending debate among people about the influence of the mass media including TV, radio, and newspaper. In my opinion, mass media has a significant influence on the public. This essay will discuss in detail influence of mass media with help of few examples in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, there are myriad of reasons to support my opinion. One of the most important is that mass media represents the general public and we tend to think it is right. For example, any news shown on TV or published in the newspaper people believe that it is true. Moreover, advertisement agencies are using mass media, such as radio and TV, to promote their products. For instance, any new product, such as toothpaste or soap, is advertised on TV or radio.

Secondly, it is irrefutable that celebrities are linked with mass media. They have the power to convince the general public. Therefore, mass media is using them to influence public opinion. For example, a famous celebrity in India is promoting tourism through the TV. In addition, availability of mass media to all population and classes also influence the large public.

In summary, as explained in aforementioned paragraphs, society gets influenced by mass media including TV, Radio, and newspaper as it has the power to convince the general public. In my view, mass media has a significant effect on people’s opinion and character.