Many people in developed countries make maximum use of gadgets from labor-saving devices such as vacuum cleaners and dishwashers to computers. Despite many people using these devices, there is an ongoing debate on whether they are contributing to our quality of life or are they just adding complexity. In this essay, I will discuss why, though they have added some complications, they have been continually improving our living standards.

Many people use gadgets and devices to achieve efficiency and effectiveness. Devices greatly help them save time. For example, a task as simple as cleaning a house would take hours when done manually. But using a vacuum cleaner, it can be accomplished in a very short amount of time. People can utilize this saved time to perform other tasks that matter the most, such as visiting a relative or pursuing their hobbies. In short, the addition of these machines to people's homes has certainly helped them manage their time in a better way.

However, some people see these devices as adding complexity to our lives. This may be true in the sense that one has to learn how to use these devices, and when these devices get upgraded, there is additional learning needed to keep up with the changes. But, learning how to use these devices is not that difficult. Once you have learned them, the skills become reusable. For example, once you learn how to operate a washing machine, the basic steps will remain the same with every new model.

To recapitulate, labor-saving devices and gadgets have become increasingly necessary for households in developed countries. In my opinion, they have helped us become more productive and efficient, and overall, have increased our quality of life.