“Normal” societal roles for women include taking care of the children in the household. But now that women contribute equally in outdoor responsibilities, it would be a little unfair to expect the same amount of dedication towards the upbringing of the children.

Is it okay for men to participate and share the responsibilities of the house and make their presence be felt more in their children's life, or should the mothers be solely responsible?

In today's world, many women build their professional career with additional responsibility of upbringing of children. It is totally unfair to expect total dedication from them to perform these dual roles equally well. Men should also take responsibility of children and need to contribute in the development of children's future. This essay will discuss about valid arguments for this approach with relative examples.

Firstly, in today's competitive world, it is really challenging to manage responsibilities of children, house and work. So, if we force women to take all the responsibilities of home and children then we are indirectly put extra stress on their life. For instance, in western countries, many women manage their work and children in parallel, but after sometime they required to sacrifice anyone of them to perform better in other. Therefore, working women can not take all the responsibilities of children and men must step up and have to share some of them to release pressure.

Secondly, upbringing of children is the responsibility of both parents. Some of the social values and behavior child can inherit from his father. Therefore, it is crucial for child to spend sufficient time with both parents. Apart from that, if both parents share responsibility with mutual understanding then it creates positive environment in home and also helps children.

In conclusion, upbringing of child is a very critical phase of child's life and therefore both parents need to perform this duty with mutual understanding and co-operation.