Parents should be held legally responsible for their children’s acts. What is your opinion? Support it with personal examples.

Recently, parents' responsibility for their children has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question: Should parents be legally held responsible for their children's behaviour? It is a widely held view that parents should not be forced legally to accept the responsibility of their children's behaviour, but this essay will discuss why it is both positive and constructive.

To begin with, the absence of parents' legal responsibility for children's behaviour is bound up with neglecting parental supervision, which indicates they lead to children's unlawful and anti-social behaviours. As a well-known example, a longitudinal study conducted by eminent scientists in 2014 demonstrates the relationship between parental liability and juvenile crime rate as well as adolescents' street crimes. Consequently, my empirical evidence presented thus far supports the contention that the likelihood of children's misbehaviour is correlated positively with inadequate parental legal responsibility.

As far as parenting is concerned, no legal penalty against children's wrongdoings seems to contribute to poor upbringing. This, in turn, would come down to improperly shaping children's character and giving rise to children's aggressive behaviour. A salient example of such attribution is minor crimes committed by young children, which is a cause for concern since it was mistaken to take parental responsibility for granted. Had there been a paradigm shift earlier, sociologists might have had the opportunity to pinpoint inevitable behavioural problems. Hence, it is reasonable to infer the pivotal role of legal responsibility.

To conclude, parental liability for children's behaviours is a pragmatic solution to increase the proportion of children who will turn to law-abiding and sensible members of society in the future.