Problems and benefits of high school students study plays and work of theatres written centuries ago. Discuss and use your experience.

All literary genres are holding the very essence of their times. These arts are actually showing the true images of specific civilizations. The study of these old century dramas during their student career is really beneficial for understanding of human development but its drawbacks also cannot be ignored. The essay will discuss both problems and benefits.

To commence with, the first benefit of studying drama and other literary genres makes students aware about their traditions, culture, customs, lifestyles and people of past centuries. This awareness also helps them to develop the understanding of human behaviours. For example, famous playwriter Shakespeare’s work was appreciated around the world and in all centuries not only in the 16th century. Young people become aware of stupidity done by people in specific cultures and learn lessons to avoid them. Therefore, literature teaches youngsters to walk on the right path and avoid wrong customs.

On the flip side, some people believe that studying theatres and literature during student career is considered sheer wastage of time and energy. In the today’s cut throat competition world, youngsters are required to pay more attention towards subjects like, math, science and computers, which will eventually help them to excel in both academic and professional careers and to get a decent job. For instance, a study shows that students are concentrating on subjects like math, science are more successful than the student who are studying theatre during their student careers.

In conclusion, studying literature in student career is beneficial for their personal growth and to develop understanding about human behaviour but its drawbacks cannot be neglected. In my opinion, a balance teaching approach is required to help students to take most of the benefits of classical writings.