As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and / or examples from your own experience or observations.

Old age is an inevitable stage of every human's life. May it be men or women, each one of them goes thru old age, at approximately same time in their lifespan. In this last leg of their life, people need care and medical attention. In today's world, medical technology has progressed so well that it adds more years to old age person. This brings to focus an important scenario of increasing population of old age people. This scenario poses certain advantages and disadvantages with respect to an individual and society, as well.

To begin with, old age people need more care than young people. But, old age people do not contribute to the society and will not in the future, too. So, caring for them is not going to benefit the society, directly. Moreover, young people work and perform various duties which effectively is targeted towards betterment and advancement of the society. Therefore, care that does not lead to any benefit is an disadvantage.

On the contrary, every old age person was young and working earlier than today. Effectively, every young person working today would get old later on in his life. Psychologically, every young person would like to be taken care of himself when in old age he or she would not be working. So, to keep the spirits of a young individual high towards working and later on living retired life, it is must that all old age people are taken care of, now and in the future, too.

In conclusion, despite no direct advantage gained from an aging population, it is aesthetically important and fundamental that old aged people are taken good care of medically and otherwise.