School should prepare students for the university rather than work. How far do you agree with this statement?

Schools are the stepping stones for people to build their fundamentals and basics of numeracy and literacy. I believe that schools play a crucial role in preparing students for universities. Therefore, I agree that schools should prepare students for the university rather than work because schools introduce students to critical basic skills and instill important values.

Critical skills, especially in both literacy and numeracy which are required for work cannot be learned in one day. Therefore, schools have a role to play in ensuring that students learn these essential skills that will enable them to complete various tasks. When students have grasped these basic concepts, they can then proceed to specialize in their interests in universities, which will prepare them for work.

Apart from the essential skills that are required, values are also a very important aspect to consider, as values define a person. If a student is prepared for work instead of universities, more emphasis may be placed on having the required skills rather than teaching them about important values. This approach may cause students to have less creativity in their minds, and may also cause everybody to be the same.

Although some people argue that schools should introduce working aspects as it will prepare the students for their future better, I can only agree to a certain extent. Introducing students to the concept of working is sufficient, and schools should not go further than that. Based on the reasons above, I strongly believe that schools should prepare students for universities rather than work.