What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in an era in which new things are constantly being invented?

Most of the recent inventions stem from the fantasy of exploiting the technology to its edge rather than necessity. These inventions are unanimously exciting but surely are not essential to most of us unlike electricity or train. Although these new breakthroughs do have some advantages but the price to be paid is very high. Therefore, I tend to believe that we would be better off with such overwhelming volume of newly invented gadgets.

To start with, new inventions often tend to improvise on earlier product or tool, rendering it as outdated. Sometimes the temptation and other times the societal pressure forces us to switch on the newer version. Consequently, older version is set aside and remains unused, thereafter. In my own home, I have two Nokia handsets and two Samsung smart phones that are discarded despite being completely functional and without any hints of wear and tear. These new inventions, surely, are converting many functional machines into scrap.

Another disadvantage, in addition to this, is that new inventions are more repetitive than unique. The new breakthrough are mostly about replacing three or more tools by providing their features into one composite new product. In fact, humans can do many tasks flexibly using their body and simple tools but inventions eventually make them forget that usage and rely majorly on those tools. This habit of relying on complex tools is making us lazy too and thus leading to many health issues. Remarkably enough, a recent research conducted by a university confirms that simple tools are more robust, durable and useful than composite machines.

In conclusion, it is apparently evident that inventions despite aiming for better life have several disadvantages accounting to its influx rate. Consciousness and a little control on this surging trend of inventions are of paramount importance.