Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this? Discuss with appropriate examples.

Sustainability of small shops is at threat because of consistently growing mall culture. In the recent past, malls have swept away many small shops in urban areas. It could be arguable to comment that small shops are being replaced by large malls; however, I strongly believe in this.

The popularity of malls is evident from the increasing rate at which they attract consumers with their ambiance, one-stop shopping venue and other facilities. The small shops cannot provide such wide-range of comforts to its customers and hence are not able to cope up with competition; consequently, they are disappearing from the market. In my own city, I have witnessed closing down of 15 small shops because they were abandoned for the same reasons.

Additionally, malls are more logistically oriented when compared to small shops. The goods distribution department of manufacturers feel a great deal of ease to drop the variety of their products at one place, rather than going to each shop one by one. According to the distribution head of one of the most prestigious company, they find it more economical and less challenging to showcase their entire product range under one roof.

To conclude, from consumers' and distributors' perspective the malls are better places to have a great shopping experience and they also provide more convenience ;as a result, small retailers are being avoided. Therefore, I consummately agree that small shops are being replaced by large malls.