Schools should prepare students for university. rather than for work,' How far do you agree with this statement~ Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations

Schooling is of paramount importance in an individual’s life. School life inculcates into student various social and academic traits, which enriches his entire life. However, extent to which schooling should prepare its students is debatable. Some people are of the opinion that primary focus of the schools should only be to train students to be eligible for good universities, while there are others who support the idea of schools teaching courses that would enable children to be employable right after they graduate.

In today’s competitive world, it is advantageous to learn the skills, which will make oneself employable, at an early age. Schools can play a great role in teaching these skills. For instance, introductory courses on programming computer devices or electronic circuits, which now are part of daily life, will not only enable them to fix their household devices when needed, but also will make them employable. Furthermore, Cost of higher education is sky rocketing and not everyone is lucky enough to afford a university course. In such a scenario, a well-trained school graduate will at least be confident enough to get employed and be independent.

However, there are others who think otherwise. According to them, universities are meant to teach vocational courses and schools should only be focused on preparing a child for getting into a university. Universities employ qualified and experienced individuals, who can better train students on these courses when compared to school teachers. Additionally, school education should be joyfully and should concentrate more on forming a good base for further growth of a student rather than straining on employability, which on job training can easily take care of.

In conclusion, schools should lay down a good foundation for student to grow, whereas, Universities should only be the place where vocational courses should be taught.