Some people claim that public transport should be free of charge, while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the phenomenon of free public transportation and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of providing free ticket is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by the substantial number of individuals. I profoundly inclined to believe that using public transports should be encouraged by authorities, and this essay will examine both sides of this matter by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

From a social standpoint, enabling people of society to access cheap public transportation could have some noticeable impacts, which are rooted in the fact that reasonable subway ticket, as well as affordable public vehicles, are extremely bound up. According to an academic survey conducted by Tehran University in 2017, using student cards as a ticket card for public transport with 50% discount encourage most of the students to use these type of transportation instead of private cars. Not to mention that using urban transportation service can lead to saving some money which has many positive economic consequences.

Within the realm of traffic science and urban planning, although using free public transport can lead to decreasing air pollution and traffic jam, it has some negative side effects. Opponents of free public services are using some logical evidence to support their idea about it. Moreover, due to an academic research conducted by a prestigious institute, periodicals and maintenance services cost a lot which some part of them should be obtained from people who use these facilities, instead of using government money.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that although some people argue about disadvantages of free public transport, I firmly tend to believe that its merits far outweigh its negative aspects; however, increasing public awareness should be considered as an important plan of governments.