Books are a great source of knowledge and information. However, some people believe that nowadays the importance books are decreasing. I completely agree with this view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay.

Firstly, thanks to the advent of state of state of the art technologies such as mobile phones, information is now available at the click of a button. Nowadays, every person around the globe has a mobile phone with them and this allow them to access information and entertainment very easily. If people need to read or watch something, they only have to surf through the Internet, and this is more convenient than using a book. For example, a recent study found out that majority of people around the world find it more easy to read an article through the Internet than through a magazine or a book.

Secondly, it is also a fact that nowadays people don't have to spend a huge amount of money on books when they can easily get all the information they need from online, free of cost. For instance, today if we need any information on a particular topic we only have to Google it and it is available for free. Thus people tend to search online rather than spending money on books which are often expensive. Also, finding an information on a books takes a lot of time, but from the Internet this is possible at the fraction of a second.

In conclusion, although books are a great source of information and entertainment, they are losing their popularity because of the advent of technologies which are more faster and more convenient.