Traveling to study is over-rated. We have brilliant scholars who studied locally. Is travel really necessary for tertiary studies?

Recently, we have witnessed phenomena of traveling to at distance places for tertiary education. Proponents are debating this development, many experts are inclined towards traveling due to its benefits, others have opposite view stating that most of the brilliant scholars are born out of studying locally. In this article, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of traveling for studies before deriving a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, there are paramount benefits of traveling for tertiary studies, first, by following this trend, students can enroll for in the area of their academic interest, due to lack of institutions not available domestically. For instance, The MIT university of USA provides best and rarest education in the area of information technology, students from the world over travel there due to its specialization, excellent teachers and state of art infrastructure. Absent of such institutions intrigue students to travel abroad. Moreover, by traveling for study, a student can learn a great deal about local society and culture. This has proven to provide many brilliant scholars.

On the other hand, there is a negligible downside of this trend, it is exorbitantly costly and there are threats that students can get influence by local free culture thus get trapped in bad habits. Hence, utter care should be taken.

In conclusion, from the above example, it is evident that although there is a minor downside of studying abroad, it can be boon for the student in the steam of specialization.