It is irrefutable to say that, professional sports stars and film stars, nowadays, have become famous public figures to millions of people around the world, especially the young people. Considering this, there are some analysts who hold an opinion that these stars should become a role model for young people, while others consider that they should not be. I am inclined to believe that, following a good role model will be beneficial for adolescents. This essay will assert both sides of the statement and deliver reasonable conclusion.

To begin, there are many benefits of making celebrities as a role model. Firstly, there are many sports personalities who are actively participating in social activities like helping poor children to study and creating awareness on protecting national heritage. These things definitely stand as motivation to the young generation. Secondly, some famous entertainment stars deliver very meaningful movies which involve lots of creativity, this helps children to think like them. For instance, Aamir Khan, an Indian actor, acted various roles in movies which can motivate children to become like him.

On the contrary, seeing stars as role models also have a number of downsides. First of all, youngsters start getting inspired from their negative roles and imitating the same act at home or in streets can have a severe impact on the society. Moreover, celebrities are often found in smoking advertisements, charged with drugs and other criminal activities, youth following their path can result in the destruction of ethical values of a society. For instance, Sanjay Dutt, Bollywood Actor is well known for his roles as a villain, his terrorist acts in different movies have given rise to violence and crime in streets of Mumbai. All these were committed by adolescents for thrill and adventure.

On the other hand, seeing sports stars as role models also has a number of downsides. First of all, regardless of the role of performing in matches and games, athletes have no moral sparks or admirable lifestyles for children to follow. For instance, some popular sports stars may have money, fame and appear prominently on covers of numerous magazines but this doesn’t mean that the youth should worship them as a hero outside the stadiums, so if you are particularly keen on their moral guide and a perfect way of studying, you are amazingly mistaken. Secondly, relationship between athletes and kids are just similar as celebrities with fans, their appearance in public and in front reporters is usually just an outer shell in order to blur away many scandals and bad sides. However, these cannot be compared to its good sides.

In summary, the entertainment industry caters different types of celebrities that could set out negative or positive effects to young people. I believe, if adolescent follows well- mannered celebrity it would helpful for him to become more successful in his life.