With the development of information communication technology, music is also available online to freely access. There is a heated debate whether songs published on internet should be permitted to access free of charge or not. This essay will discuss that internet affects musicians to getting popular and it diminishes their income as well.

Generally, freely available music tend to discourage singers and composers. Since songs freely available on the internet, general public do not purchase albums and it dramatically decreases the income of singers and composers. For instance, songs belong to modern and golden eras can be played and also downloaded from web sites such as YouTube for frequent usage without any hindrance. Therefore, a mechanism should be implemented to arrange an income for the artists from online platforms.

On the other hand, singers and songs get more popular after publishing on internet. Nowadays people browse internet rather than using traditional media such as radio and television. For instance, there are myriad of younger musicians who got popular because of their presence in YouTube and Facebook. Hence, online platforms have become an avenue for the widespread popularity in the music world.

In summary, although publishing songs on internet causes reduction in musicians’ revenue, it helps them to getting popular among audiences. In my opinion, while publishing free songs on the internet, a method should be secured to generate revenue source for the benefit of people involve in the music field.