Grouping of students according to their academic abilities is common in myriads of educational institutions. There is a heated debate whether ability groups have advantages or disadvantages in academic circles. This essay will discuss convenience of education as an advantage and lower consideration of pupil groups whose achievements are lower as a disadvantage of this process.

Firstly, separating students according to their capabilities makes education easier for students as well as teachers. This allows them to continue teaching and learning at the same pace. If clever and poor students are mixed, the latter cannot be given special attention because it will bore the former. Therefore, ability groups help to pursue studies at a moderate speed without hindrance to others.

On the other hand, student groupings based on learning abilities creates a social consensus among humans. Higher performing teams are considered as brilliant and they get more benefits. Members of student groups who underperforms feel inferiority and they may tend to prone mental disorders such as depression. Hence, this grouping concept negatively affects the psychological behavior of pupils who are not able to perform well.

In summary, ability groups make education more convenient as well as interesting and negatively affects the mindsets of pupils whose performance is not satisfactory. In my opinion, student groupings should be continued while giving more and extra attention to student sets who show lower academic results.