With the development of technology, studying films also has become a prominent part of school curriculum. There is a heated debate whether movie studies has a significant educational value as literature. This essay will discuss how film studies allow students to think broadly and limited support to improve language compared to printed matter.

Firstly, studying films enables students to look beneath the surface and discover deeper meanings about world including various aspects of lifestyles in different cultures. A veteran film director is able to depict the socioeconomic background of the society with the support of technologies such as background music. For instance, the movie Gandhi provides information on Indian society, imperialism, non-violent protest, personal freedoms, rights and responsibilities and religions for students to discuss. Therefore, studying films broadens mental horizons of pupils because it stimulates visual and auditory faculties as well.

On the other hand learning films does not help students to develop their language skills. In a film, the story is taught with visuals, simple dialogues and background music where as in literature advanced language is used with limited number of dialogues. Reading Charles Dickens’ novel Great Expectations helps a student to improve English grammar, vocabulary and complex sentence patterns compared with watching the same film. Hence, parallel to film studies students should read relevant books to improve their language skills.

In summary, although films allow pupils to get a deeper understanding of life it does not allow them to improve formal language. In my opinion, the benefits of learning films cannot be undermined and necessary actions should be taken to improve reading and other parts of language.