With the development of information technology, libraries are also computerized and digital devices have been introduced to make functions efficient. There are advantages and disadvantages of this digital infrastructure. This essay will discuss the convenience of modern computer based systems and difficulties faced by non-tech people during operations.

Digital devises help to run functions of libraries easier and faster with less number of staff. Library catalogues and book issuing processes are computerized and related activities such as calculating fines is happened through computers. Moreover, computerized catalogues are more efficient and saves time. Therefore, automation using digital technologies make the lives of library staff as well as users easier.

On the other hand, operations of digital devices are difficult for non-tech savvy people. They face difficulties while handling automated gadgets such as computer based library catalogues. Statistical data shows that 70% of library users are children and elderly adults. Hence, non-computer literate people face various difficulties while operating high tech devices.

In summary, usage of digital infrastructure increases efficiency and non-computer literate people face difficulties while using these systems. In my opinion, even if state of the art technologies are a hindrance to certain people, they should be trained to gain the maximum benefits of modern digital era in libraries as well.