Studying dramas on various themes is a significant aspect of syllabi in academic circles for a long time. There is a heated debate about positive and negative ramifications of teaching plays, which represent olden days. This essay will discuss how older dramas pave the way for students to understand ancient culture and the possibility to cultivate unacceptable social practices in their minds.

Firstly, older theatre allow students to understand ancient culture and traditions. Learning such plays pupils study history and lifestyles of their ancestors who lived centuries ago. For instance, Shakespeare’s plays such as Romeo Juliet and The Merchant of Venice provides a thorough overview of eras of Medieval Europe and Roman Empire. Hence, children gain meaning of life and their cultural heritages, which existed a long time ago.

On the other hand, these plays are based on certain discrimination, which are not accepted in the modern society. Those periods human rights, civil rights were not existed in some societies and dictator kings ruled countries. In India and Arab countries, a male dominated environment existed and women were despised in the society. Therefore, children may be misguided based on these incidents.

In summary, while students get vital information of ancient culture, they also get the overview of social discriminations and malpractices which are not tolerated anymore. In my opinion, although there are some disadvantages, studying older theatre plays expand mental horizons of students and outweighs drawbacks.