With the development of science and technology, sophisticated medical equipment and modern treatments have been introduced and as a result, life expectancy of humans increased. There is a heated debate about positive and negative ramifications of this achievement. This essay will discuss how older people become an asset to the younger generation and elderly people depend on others for their livelihood.

With the increased life, elderly people are able to share their valuable experiences to the society. People learn many things from their activities throughout their lives. People share their knowledge from generation to generation and grandchildren get the opportunities to listen to stories even from their great grandparents. Hence, prolonged human life helps to create family bonds and a pleasant society.

On the other hand, elder generation is considered as a burden to the society. Majority of older people are feeble and are not physically and mentally fit enough for employments and their children or other organisations feed them. For instance, governments allocate significant amount of money for pension schemes and other welfare activities targeted at elders. Therefore, the workforce of the country have to bear the cost associated with the elder generation.

In summary, valuable knowledge can be shared from elderly people and expenses of senior citizens have to be borne by their guardians or governments. Since there are a number of disadvantages in prolonged life for society and individuals, in my opinion it is not a blessing to the society.