Is television (primarily) a form of entertainment or information?

The television has become an essential in almost everybody’s household. It helps us to see events that take place hundreds and thousands of kilometres away from us. Some people argue that TV becomes an indispensable part of our life, while other analysts think opposite to this. This essay will give assertion on both sides of the contention before delivering plausible conclusion.

To begin, television helps us to make our life more creative. It provides a wide range of channels like tourism, travel, foods, lifestyle, news, and many more, the information broadcasted in these channels is so useful that it helps people to increase their mental horizon. Moreover, news and discovery programmes can help to make young people more aware of surroundings. For instance, by watching discovery channel students could learn lots of things which may help them in their studies. Also, retired persons who are mostly free can pass their time by watching television. Thus, television helps every age group in different ways.

On the other hand, television has some disadvantages too. Firstly, staring at television’s screen for a long period can be harmful to the eyes and the nerves. Moreover, children who watch action serials or movies are more aggressive and start losing their control from themselves. For instance, in 2010 in America, around 20% of juvenile crime made by those children who watch regularly fighting movies or programmes.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that, TV is a great medium of getting knowledge and to enhance our mental horizon. But, it should be noted that excess of everything is bad. I believe, we should use this device properly to reduce its side-effects.