Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high- for the smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.Do Governments have a legitimate role in protecting citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to an individual?

Consumption of tobacco adversely affects health expenses among smokers and health systems around the world. Some people believe governments should be supportive in helping individuals with the side effects of smoking while others believe this decision should be made by smokers themselves. This essay will discuss why governments help people who has smoking habits.

The responsibility to provide assistance to smokers is inevitably held by governments. Tobacco industry injects huge amounts of money when paying high taxes, it is estimated more than 2 billion dollars per year which should contribute significantly to supporting smokers. For example, psychology assistance and quitting programs. Obviously, Governments could manage this money for the support of smoking individuals.

Secondly, it is a role of governments to promote support among smokers. Governments who can carefully control and prohibit tobacco still let tobacco companies destroying people’s life. For example, Philip Morris which has become the richest company in the world. Certainly, this company could stopping killing smokers by the enforcement of governments.

This essay discussed the reasons why smokers needs the help of governments. I my opinion, governments play an important role to be protective and look after smokers.