Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high- for the smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.Do Governments have a legitimate role to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to an individual?”

Nowadays, tobacco shows to be the most dangerous drugs worldwide. Its popularisation has deeply affected health systems and productivity among communities. While some people believe governments play a role against tobacco effects, others believe individuals choose their own decisions. This essay will discuss why public agencies should fight against tobacco and its harmful effects.

Firstly, tobacco is one of the most harmful substances across the world and favourite among many people. Tobacco commercialisation should be banned worldwide by governments, which will dramatically reduce health care expenses. For example, The United States of America prohibited tobacco commercialisation in 2014. As a result of that, health costs have a dramatic fall of about 60% compared with earlier years when tobacco was allowed.

Secondly, tobacco effects are responsible for killing in the entire world. Governments should sue businesses which support tobacco propaganda. For instance, Australia wiped off tobacco advertisements all over the country. Obviously, after that decision, the number of smokers have achieved the lowest. Tobacco is the substance which most kill on a global scale.

This essay discussed why governments play a role in the fight of tobacco. It is imperative that the ban on smoking and propaganda are the means to exterminate tobacco smoking and governments are to play this role.