Universities marks deduct who students are late. Give your opinion and examples.

At university, students are commonly assessed through individual or group assignments. These assignments always are time limited and mark deduction is applied when students fail to meet the deadlines. This essay will argue that while such punishment is strict and imposes pressure on students, it is mandatory to do so.

To commence with, due date requires students to manage their time effectively and avoid procrastination. Penalty is an effective way to gain students commitment on completing the tasks within the time frame. For instance, students usually work on multiple projects or assignments at the same time without any given schedule. To avoid losing marks, the students are more likely to plan their schedule and assign a reasonable amount of time for the task. Therefore, marks should be subtracted from students who fail to meet the deadlines.

Secondly, opponents might argue that tasks are occasionally too challenging for students, and consequently, penalty due to late submission is not necessary. In fact, most universities provide assistance to students in completing their assignments. To clarify, students are free to discuss with each other or their professors. There are also other services to help with other aspects of the assignment such as writing essay, statistical analysis or software demonstration. Thus, by imposing penalties, students are encouraged to employ all study aids and do their best to complete the given assignments.

To conclude, this essay has argued that students should receive penalty when they fail to submit their assignment on time. Such punishment ensures students commitment on sufficiently using all available resources offered by university to carry out the given task efficiently.