“Vegetarianism is more ethical than eating meat.”

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement. Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Write between 200 and 300 words.

Vegetarianism has become increasingly popular since the 1970s and the ‘animal liberation’ movement. It has also been a part of many cultures around the world, most notably in India. Many people choose to become vegetarians because of ethical reasons. This essay will discuss why being vegetarian is in fact much more ethical than eating meat.

It is well known that meat eating causes enormous suffering to animals. Chickens, cows and pigs, for instance, are raised only to be slaughtered for human consumption. While the level of consciousness of these animals is debatable, there is no doubt that the suffering that they feel is very real. In short, the ethics behind killing animals for human food can never be reconciled.

Vegetarianism also has a positive impact on the environment, which also makes it an ethical stance. Preserving the environment by not eating meat means that everyone will live better lives. Farming cows, for instance, has been shown to negatively affect both pastures and the atmosphere. If we preserve the environment by not eating meat then future generations will live in a much cleaner world, which is highly ethical for us to do.

This essay discussed why vegetarianism is more ethical than eating meat because it eliminates unnecessary harm to animals and sustains the environment. In my opinion, vegetarianism is superior to meat eating in terms of ethics.