The strengths and weaknesses in the education system in various countries and its myriad impacts have always been a controversial topic. It is a widely held view that the government should be held responsible for the quality of the nation’s education system as its direct impacts are inextricably connected. I will elaborate the strengths and weaknesses with examples throughout this essay.

There are numerous strengths in the education system in Singapore. The most apparent one would be the strict and intensive curriculum and teaching methods that ensure students have a thorough understanding of the subjects. In addition, the government made education very accessible by providing subsidies in tuition fees. A survey conducted on Asian students showed that Singapore has the highest percentage of educated population and the students excel in more fields of studies than their Asian counterparts. From my personal experience, the intensive teaching methods have indubitably helped me to achieve my masters degree.

However, Singapore's education system is not without its weakness. Many criticize that the curriculum lacked in aspects which promote and foster creativity among students. This is due to sparsity of arts subjects being taught in school and the lack of interest among students. A survey result also showed that parents are convinced that there are barely any creative jobs in the industry after the students are to graduate from an art school. Consequently, Singaporean students often lack the creative skills that are often required in almost any jobs these days.

To recapitulate the above discussion, while the strengths in Singapore’s education system is apparent, the drawbacks are too hard to ignore. Hence, I firmly believe that the government should steer their focus to developing creativity among students from a young age through education.